Weather forecast

News from Motorsport UK:

Motorsport UK Extends Suspension of Motorsport Permits to 30th June

In light of recent developments in the COVID-19 crisis, and following the address to the nation by the Prime Minister on the evening of 23rd March, Motorsport UK has today extended its suspension of all organising permits and Certificates of Exemption for motorsport events until at least 30th June.

This move provides clear guidance to event organisers, venues, competitors, officials and volunteer marshals of the role that Motorsport UK must play in supporting the broader UK public health agenda.

In recent days the feedback from our members and the community was a need for increased clarity to allow them to plan appropriately and, should the need arise, put in place necessary contingency measures.

Motorsport UK Chairman, David Richards explained, “Motorsport UK has a vital role to play with its community in re-inforcing that, at this time of national emergency, we must all stay at home to play our part in protecting the NHS and ultimately saving lives.  Today, the government have required that we effectively lock-down for a period of three weeks, however given that the most vulnerable in our society are required to isolate for three months, it is evident that the most responsible course of action was to propose a longer suspension of our sport.  When we reflect back on this time, it will be a brief, but vital, hiatus from our everyday motorsport life and we must put this in perspective.  This is a time of national unity and we need to come together with the broader public community to do all we can to support this battle and ultimately save lives.”

Motorsport UK will continue to monitor the prevailing advice from the UK Government in respect of the COVID-19 international pandemic and will update the motorsport community accordingly.

News from Neath & Port Talbot Special Events Group:


Dear Organiser

 As you are no doubt aware, the UK is currently facing an outbreak of Coronavirus (Covid-19).

 In light of the government advice that is being updated daily, we are now informing you of the following:

 •        All events that are due to take place on council land will have to be postponed for the foreseeable future, with immediate effect.  Any permissions agreements that have been granted to you for hosting an event on council land are now cancelled.  If your event is currently going through our event registration process, it will also have to be postponed. 

 •        If your event was due to take place on land other than that owned by the authority, we are advising you to follow the government guidelines that have been issued with regard to public gatherings.

 We realise that your event may not be due to take place until later in the year, but until the situation changes, no events are authorised to take place on council land.

Please accept our apologies if you have already informed us of your event cancellation.  We wanted to communicate the same information to everybody for clarity on what is an ongoing situation in the UK.

 We hope that you are understanding of the decision that has been made in these unprecedented circumstances. 

 We ask all of you to keep up to date with the daily bulletins that are being issued by the government and Public Health Wales, not just for your events, but also for your own personal health and that of your families and friends.

 Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any queries.

 Kind regards and stay well

Update from Motorsport UK:

Motorsport UK COVID-19 Update

It is with regret that Motorsport UK is suspending all organising permits and Certificates of Exemption until at least 30th April 2020. This suspension follows the latest guidance issued by HM UK Government in response to the outbreak of COVID-19. This position will be constantly reviewed given prevailing information.

As the National Governing Body, we would ask all Motorsport UK members to act responsibly and follow the Government’s guidance during this difficult time.

We thank all of our members, organisers, officials, volunteers, staff and their families for their support during these unprecedented times.  We will continue to monitor the situation and will resume sporting activity as soon as we are able. We also have a responsibility and duty of care to our staff who will be working from home, so please be patient with any queries you may have.  

David Richards, chairman of Motorsport UK, explained, “Clearly we live in challenging times and exceptional measures are required. The decision to suspend Motorsport UK permits on a temporary basis is not one that was taken lightly as the industry employs many thousands of people. However we have an over-riding responsibility to our members and the friends and families of our community. Furthermore, our social responsibilities extend to the broader population and the potential drain on valuable public health resources on which we are all reliant.

“The situation is very fluid and we will continue to monitor developments over the coming weeks and hope that we can resume the annual motorsport calendar at the opportune moment. In the immediate short term our efforts need to be focused on ensuring that the industry that backs up the sport has the financial support that it requires from the Government in order that it can be sustained beyond this extraordinary scenario.”


Event Update.


Our event, The Red Kite Stages will be held on Sunday 14th June 2020 will run to a similar format to previous years with Scrutineering and documentation at Resolven on Saturday afternoon. Presently our aim is to offer 5 stages totalling 44.5 miles with 50 road miles, a total of 94 miles. First car will start at 9.30 and finish at 13.51 allowing competitors an early drive home. The event is a confirmed round of the British Historic Championship, both Welsh National and Historic Championships, HRCR Stage Masters Challenge and the Independent Paint Supplies Challenge.


Alongside the main event we are planning to offer a mini/starter/taster event aimed at competitors new or inexperienced in loose surface multi-venue events running on a separate permit. There will be 2 classes, Up to 1600cc and 1601cc to 2000cc open to any vehicle complying with 2020 stage rally regulations. To keep costs to a minimum, scrutineering and documentation will be on Sunday 14th June followed by either 2 stages totalling 19.1 miles/19.11 road miles or 3 stages totalling 25.38 miles/30.18 road miles. The winning crew in each class will receive an award as well as a 50% reduction on their entry to the 2021 Red Kite Stages.


Links to Championship Regulations and Registration Forms are in the Competitors Section.